We post a Pay or Quit notices on the 5th of the month (or the next business day after). After that, per Nevada state law, tenants have 7 full business days to pay. At that point if they have still not paid, then we file eviction (around the middle of the month).
Once we start eviction proceedings, we are evicting the tenant. That typically takes 1-3 weeks from the time of filing with the court.
COVID Update: Due to the ever changing rules surrounding evictions, we can not provide a timeline for the eviction process at this time. The Nevada state legislature passed a “temporary” law in 2021, requiring landlords to allow all non-paying tenants to apply for rent assistance before eviction. This means the eviction process can take 3 months or more. However, if the tenant qualifies for rent assistance, eventually the back rent may get paid. Additionally, once rent assistance is received, landlords still cannot evict for a minimum period following the assistance payment.